Our Heavenly Home

This week’s post is going to be short and sweet for two reasons. First of all, my window of opportunity to blog is shrinking with every word that I type (my beautiful baby is going to wake up from her nap at any moment)… The second reason – I am still reflecting on and processing what God is speaking to my heart, and I pray He would do the same for you. I want to give you a quote, Scripture, and a song, and give you some time to reflect.

The quote I want to share has stuck with me over the years as one of my favorites. God brought it to mind this morning as we watched our final video of the Beth Moore DVD study of Revelation. The quote is from C.S. Lewis: If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

I have always loved this quote because I can so easily relate to it – there is a longing and a desire within me that nothing can satisfy… I was created for another world – a heavenly one. I was made for paradise with God!

In Bible Study today we covered Revelation 21 and 22. I encourage you to read them! They paint such a beautiful picture of what is to come for those who believe in Jesus, whose names are written in the Lamb’s book of life. God will make all things new! Revelation 21:4 says, “He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

We also looked at Isaiah 65:17-20…

“Behold, I will create new heavens and a new earth. The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind. But be glad and rejoice forever in what I will create, for I will create Jerusalem to be a delight and its people a joy. I will rejoice over Jerusalem and take delight in my people; the sound of weeping and of crying will be heard in it no more. Never again will there be in it an infant who lives but a few days, or an old man who does not live out his years…” (NIV84)

“Pay close attention now: I’m creating new heavens and a new earth. All the earlier troubles, chaos, and pain are things of the past, to be forgotten. Look ahead with joy. Anticipate what I’m creating: I’ll create Jerusalem as sheer joy, create my people as pure delight. I’ll take joy in Jerusalem, take delight in my people: No more sounds of weeping in the city, no cries of anguish; No more babies dying in the cradle, or old people who don’t enjoy a full lifetime…” (MSG)

I am so looking forward to this… to the new heavens and the new earth, dwelling with God and Jesus together with the family of God, where the past is forgotten for good, where all the sorrow, pain, grief, sin and death are gone and replaced with sheer joy and pure delight… forever! This is what my heart longs for.

Ecclesiastes 3:11 says,

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” (NIV84)

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He also has planted eternity in men’s hearts and minds [a divinely implanted sense of a purpose working through the ages which nothing under the sun but God alone can satisfy], yet so that men cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.” (AMP)

God has set eternity in our hearts and minds! The Hebrew word for eternity in this verse is ‘owlam, and it means “of future: for ever, always, continuous existence, perpetual, everlasting, indefinite or unending future, eternity.” We have a longing in our hearts for something everlasting, unending, and eternal – nothing on this earth can satisfy it!

I want to leave you with a song by Brooke Fraser called “C.S. Lewis Song” – enjoy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wo-e2BjICCY

3 thoughts on “Our Heavenly Home

  1. Megan …. You have a beautiful soul! Think you for my card – I am blown away by your creativity and your kindness! I love you! I appreciate you! I miss you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

