Enlarge My Heart

I recently finished reading Keep Your Love On by Danny Silk. It’s an amazing book if you haven’t read it yet! In the last part of the book, he used the phrase “learn to love” and it has stuck with me this week! There are so many areas in my life where I need to “learn to love.” At the end of my life, I want to be able to say that I learned to love.

My flesh has a natural tendency to fight, to argue, to disagree… But I’m tired of sowing to the flesh, and letting the enemy have his way in my relationships. I want to sow to the Spirit even more and LOVE – even when I don’t feel like it. But I don’t want to rely on my own strength. I know I can be such a selfish person. I need help!

In the book, Danny includes Psalm 119:32 (NKJV) – “I will run the course of Your commandments, for You shall enlarge my heart.”

I love this verse! Here it is in the Amplified and the Message:

“I will [not merely walk, but] run the way of Your commandments, when You give me a heart that is willing.” (AMP)

“I’ll run the course you lay out for me if you’ll just show me how.” (MSG)

I really love this verse! It has become the desire of my heart. And I love that there’s two parts – I’m running in the way of God’s commands (to love Him, and to love others as I love myself), and I’m relying on God to enlarge my heart in the process.

Here are some Hebrew definitions from www.blueletterbible.com:

  • Enlarge = rachab = to be or grow wide, be or grow large, to be widened, be enlarged, broad or roomy pasture
  • Heart = leb = inner man, mind, will, heart, understanding, inner part, soul

And Webster’s definitions from www.m-w.com:

  • Enlarge = to make larger, extend; to give greater scope to, expand; to set free (as a captive)
  • Heart = the heart thought of as the place where emotions are felt; one’s innermost character, feelings or inclinations; the central or innermost part, the essential or most vital part of something

The idea of our heart being enlarged totally reminded me of the Grinch… at the beginning of the classic story by Dr. Seuss, his heart was two sizes too small. By the end his heart had grown three sizes!

God can do it! He can enlarge my heart! I don’t have to be captive to my feelings or a prisoner to unforgiveness. I don’t have to manufacture love or let my selfish nature reign. I can draw near to God, catch a glimpse of His heart, and be forever changed. I can ask and seek and knock for an increased capacity to love. And I can watch as He graciously expands my mind, will, soul and understanding so that His love can flow through me a little more freely.

It’s my prayer that God would first enlarge my heart for Him – that I would know Him better, and love Him well, and praise Him all the days of my life. I also pray that my heart would be enlarged for His people – all people – but especially for my family. It’s so easy to take for granted those closest to you, the ones you spend your daily life with. The ones who regularly push your buttons, but the ones you can’t imagine not having around to push your buttons. Enlarge my heart, Lord, for the good and perfect gifts you have placed in my life. ❤

IMG_8282

2 thoughts on “Enlarge My Heart

  1. Megan, You are a gifted writer with a heart that follows after God to an amazing degree! I’ve been touched and inspired by each of your blog entries, but this one is especially powerful …….. so proud of you and so blessed to know you!

    Like

  2. W O W! Ditto sister – could you add my name to your prayer? cuz I wanna be just like you when I grow up – I want to imitate you as you imitate Christ!

    Like

Leave a Reply

