In God I Trust

“Lord, I’m tired. It’s been a long week, and it’s not over yet. Help me to keep my eyes fixed on You, Your goodness, and Your faithfulness. Fill me with more of You. Strengthen, refresh…” – March 3, 2016

This was my prayer last Thursday. The week was full of doctor appointments and some unexpected surprises (aka inconveniences). Simply put, it was a long week, and I was getting weary. But God!

I love how He can speak through His Word, the Bible, and bring a timely verse or passage to strengthen and encourage our weary souls… If we’ll only take the time to seek Him, listen, and receive. His Word really can be our daily bread, our sustenance that we need every single day. Our heavenly manna. He is faithful to provide exactly what we need.

“If I were hungry do you think I would tell you? For all that I have created, the fullness of the earth is mine. Am I fed by your sacrifices? Of course not! Why don’t you bring me the sacrifices I desire? Bring me your true and sincere thanks, and show your gratitude by keeping your promises to me, the Most High. Honor me by trusting in me in your day of trouble. Cry aloud to me, and I will be there to rescue you. That is what I desire from you!” – Psalm 50:12-15 tPt

What a good, good Father He is! His desire is that we would call on Him. He longs for us to trust Him. To believe that He cares about us and loves us and wants to be with us.

“Surrender your anxiety! (Relax) Be silent and stop your striving and you will see that I am God.” – Psalm 46:10 tPt

“God, you’re such a safe and powerful place to hide! You’re a proven help in time of trouble; more than enough and always available whenever I need you.” – Psalm 46:1 tPt

“When the foundations are being destroyed, what can the righteous do?” The Lord is in His holy temple; the Lord is on His heavenly throne. He observes everyone on earth; His eyes examine them. – Psalm 11:3-4 NIV

It doesn’t matter what’s happening around us. God is God. He’s seated on the throne. He’s in charge, He’s in control. Nothing escapes His eye. He sees all, and He knows all. He is GOD.

When I don’t trust Him, I’m letting fear in (faith in the devil). I’m letting my faith fade. I’m letting doubt reign.

And I have to wrestle with this question: why wouldn’t I trust in God? Even if He didn’t do one more thing for me… He is worthy to be trusted. He has MORE than earned my trust. His record is proven and flawless. He has always come through. His faithfulness has always endured. I have to remember that He is outside of time… I don’t want to try to box God or limit Him, or expect Him to fit my timeline. I have to remember: He is in control, seated on His throne. He knows what’s happening, and He knows what He’s doing.

“Our fathers trusted in You; they trusted (leaned on, relied on You, and were confident) and You delivered them. They cried to You and were delivered; they trusted in, leaned on, and confidently relied on You, and were not ashamed or confounded or disappointed.” – Psalm 22:4-5 AMP

“I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I [confidently] trust!” – Psalm 91:2 AMP

The Hebrew word for “trust” in these verses is batach, and it means “to trust, trust in, to have confidence, be confident, to be bold, to be secure, to feel safe, be careless.” (www.blueletterbible.org) We can make the choice to trust in God – to have confidence in Him and His plan. To be safe and secure in His arms. To lean on Him and let our cares go.

“Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.” – Psalm 63:7-8 NIV

I love the word “clings” in this verse! In the Hebrew, it’s the word dabaq, and it means “to cling, stick, stay close, cleave, keep close, stick to, stick with, follow closely, join to, overtake, catch, to stay with, to be joined together, to pursue closely.” My soul clings to the Lord… I stick to Him, I keep close to Him. I’m joined to Him, pursuing Him closely.

“… therefore choose life, that you and your descendants may live and may love the Lord your God, obey His voice, and cling to Him. For He is your life and the length of your days…” – Deuteronomy 30:19-20 AMP

That word dabaq (cling) is in this verse, too, and is also translated as “hold fast”. We were created for relationship with our Heavenly Father, to hold fast to Him, to cling to Him, to cleave to Him and follow Him closely.

Now let’s look at how the words “trust” and “cling” are connected in the New Testament…

“For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life.” – John 3:16 AMP

“I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, he who believes in Me [who adheres to, trusts in, relies on, and has faith in Me] has (now possesses) eternal life.” – John 6:47 AMP

“Do not let your hearts be troubled (distressed, agitated). You believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely on God; believe in and adhere to and trust in and rely also on Me.” – John 14:1 AMP

“Neither for these alone do I pray [it is not for their sake only that I make this request], but also for all those who will ever come to believe in (trust in, cling to, rely on) Me through their Word and teaching.” – John 17:20 AMP

The Greek word for “believe” in all these passages is pisteuō, and it means “to think to be true, to be persuaded of, to credit, place confidence in; to trust in Jesus or God as able to aid either in obtaining or doing something; to entrust a thing to one.”

When we trust Him, when we believe in Him, we will rely on and cling to Him! No matter what our circumstances say, or how they make us feel… we can choose to trust our God and entrust our lives to Him! We can adhere ourselves to Jesus – fasten and fuse our very lives to His!

God is a secure place to put our confidence. He is always dependable, and will never let us down! The enemy would love for us to put our trust in ourselves or to give way to fear (trusting in the enemy)… but we’ve been called to place our trust in Jesus and believe in Him – relying on, leaning on, and adhering ourselves to Him! He is trustworthy and faithful in everything!

  
This week’s song suggestions: 

  • “Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle… If you haven’t heard it, I strongly encourage you to click here and listen to it! It’s amazing!!
  • Another great song is “Never Walk Alone” by Rend Collective… listen here!
2 thoughts on “In God I Trust

Leave a Reply

