Learning to Remain

Abide. Produce.

Two words that I played in a late night round of ‘Words with Friends’ against my mom.

Two words that I can’t seem to shake.

Two words that I’m pretty sure God wants me to get.

In John 15:4, Jesus said: “Abide in Me, and I will abide in you. The branch cannot itself produce fruit, unless it abides on the vine. Likewise, you cannot produce fruit unless you abide in Me.”‬ ‭(TLV‬‬)

The Greek word used for “abide” is menō, and it means: “to remain, abide; in reference to place: to sojourn, tarry, not to depart, to continue to be present, to be held, kept, continually; in reference to time: to continue to be, not to perish, to last, endure; in reference to state or condition: to remain as one, not to become another or different; to wait for, await one” (from the Blue Letter Bible App).

I love this definition! We’re called to remain in Christ – to tarry in His presence, to be held in His loving arms, to endure, to be present in our relationship with Him. As branches, in order to survive and thrive, we must stay connected to the Vine – Jesus.

The word for “produce” (or “bear”) in the Greek is pherō, and it means “to bring, bring to, bring forward, to bear, bring forth, produce.”

What will the natural result be when we abide in Jesus? We will produce fruit; we will bring forth lasting, life-giving fruit. Our connection to Jesus – our source – is crucial!

And it doesn’t work the other way around. I can’t produce fruit on my own and, as a result, abide in Him. My priority must be to seek Him first… to return to my First Love… to put Him before everything else. Life flows from relationship with Jesus.

God is changing my heart. The more time I spend with Him, the more time I want to spend with Him. What began as a discipline motivated by duty, is becoming true devotion motivated by desperation. A hunger and thirst is being cultivated in me that only He can quench. His Word is becoming my daily bread, and I am learning to drink deep of His living water.

I’ll keep it short and simple – that’s what’s on my heart to share with you today. I encourage you to spend some time abiding in Jesus – He has chosen you to remain in Him and bear beautiful fruit!

“You have not chosen Me, but I have chosen you and I have appointed you [I have planted you], that you might go and bear fruit and keep on bearing, and that your fruit may be lasting [that it may remain, abide], so that whatever you ask the Father in My Name [as presenting all that I AM], He may give it to you.” – John‬ ‭15:16‬ ‭AMP‬‬

This week’s song suggestion: “A Little Longer” by Jenn Johnson & Bethel Music (click to listen!)


Me and my kids last fall ❤️

Leave a Reply

