The New New

My husband wrote a song many years ago called “The New New.” It has fun lyrics and a catchy beat. Needless to say, I’m a fan 🙂 He kinda hates the song, but the phrase “New New” has always stuck with us. 

Two months ago, I tried my first hard-boiled egg. Not sure how I went almost 30 years without eating one. (Probably the smell.) Anyway, it started me on a new adventure, to eat something new every week. There’s even a list on my phone to keep myself accountable. It’s title? “New New.” Of course! Once I had tried a hard-boiled egg, and then made one myself, I felt like an adult. Like I was ready to turn 30. (So cheesy, but it’s true.) 

Some other new things I’ve tried: stuffed mushrooms, beets, deviled eggs, green olives, and parsnips. And I can’t forget the roasted walnut pecan caramel marshmallows from Starbucks (thanks Mom!) ❤️

You’re probably wondering where in the world this blog is going. In the wake of my “New New” adventure, God brought to mind 2 Corinthians 5:17…

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has passed away, behold, the new has come!” (NIV) 

I am a new creation! The old has gone, the new is here! Thank you Jesus!

His love keeps no record of my wrongs. His love covers over each of my sins – every shortcoming. My chains are gone, my shame removed, forgotten forever. Jesus paid it all!

My identity – who I am – is found in Him. He loves me just the way I am. I am free to be me, to be who He created me to be. I rest secure in Him, in how He formed me… Owning my quirks, I can have fun, really live – without fear. 

A few months ago, I was cleaning the exteriors of my crockpot and rice cooker. I noticed that the protective film near the buttons was still on… both of them! From when they were purchased! As I peeled off the film, I had this invading thought that I had been living my life with the protective film on. It was time to take it off. Only then does clarity come. Life, how it was meant to be lived. Me, how I was created to be. Facades gone. Protective walls down. Vulnerable. 

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” – Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NIV)

God is faithful, and His timing is perfect. He makes all things new – not just at the point of salvation, but through an ongoing process. Sometimes daily, oftentimes moment by moment. He makes all things beautiful. He is the great Restorer. He brings light to darkness, love to hate, life to death, and breath to dry bones. 

This week’s song suggestion: “Beautiful Things” by Gungor

 “You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.” – C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

2 thoughts on “The New New

Leave a Reply

