A Word to the Wives

Earlier this week I was reading 1 Peter in the Amplified Bible, and there were a couple verses that especially caught my eye. 

In like manner, you married women, be submissive to your own husbands [subordinate yourselves as being secondary to and dependent on them, and adapt yourselves to them], so that even if any do not obey the Word [of God], they may be won over not by discussion but by the [godly] lives of their wives, when they observe the pure and modest way in which you conduct yourselves, together with your reverence [for your husband; you are to feel for him all that reverence includes: to respect, defer to, revere him–to honor, esteem, appreciate, prize, and, in the human sense, to adore him, that is, to admire, praise, be devoted to, deeply love, and enjoy your husband].” – 1 Peter‬ ‭3:1-2‬ ‭(AMP‬‬)

We’re called to submit to our husbands, to respect and revere them. I love how the Amplified Bible brings these words to life!

What does it look like to submit to our husbands? It looks like putting our husbands first before ourselves, depending on them, and adapting to them. Honoring their role as head of the household, following their lead, being flexible.

What’s included in the call to revere? 

  • to respect him
  • defer to him
  • revere him
  • to honor him
  • esteem him
  • appreciate him 
  • prize him
  • adore him
  • admire him 
  • praise him
  • be devoted to him
  • deeply love him
  • enjoy him

What a detailed description of how to revere him! And notice, it doesn’t say to do these things when he loves us well, or only when he is “deserving” of our reverence. 

Upon reading this passage, I saw all the areas I was falling short as a wife, realizing I’ve been doing a pretty terrible job of loving, respecting, and revering my husband. I can choose to stay in this place, discouraged, ashamed, unchanged, making excuses and letting life pass on by. It would be easier that way. Besides, I’ve been married for 10 years and 5 months… we’re well out of the honeymoon phase. And I’m pretty busy and exhausted from raising four kids. And my flesh is so selfish… my natural tendency is to be self-centered. I’ve been that way for 30 years. 

But God hasn’t called us to a mediocre life, justified by excuses and giving in to “easy”. God has called us to love – active, intentional love. Even when we’re exhausted. Even when we don’t feel like it. Even when it’s hard. 

I can make the choice – the decision – to change. To prayerfully consider how I can love my husband better and respect him more. I’m so grateful for God’s Word, that it’s a measuring stick, a standard that I can reflect upon and see where I’m missing the mark. I can realign myself with God’s Word and will, and pray for His love to overwhelm me and His power to help me. 

I encourage you to take your marriage to the next level – even if you don’t “feel” like it. Even if you don’t think you should be the one to initiate it. Make a choice; decide to put the Word into practice. 

Let’s love and respect our husbands like never before. Let’s be their biggest fan, their loudest cheerleader, their most faithful supporter. 

Me and my beloved husband, Jon! I am truly grateful for him, and honored to be on this journey of faith with him! 

Leave a Reply

