Finding Roses Among the Weeds

My youngest daughter was watching an episode of Clifford on Netflix yesterday while I got ready for the day. All of a sudden, Emily Elizabeth dropped some wisdom and I found myself typing it quickly in a note on my phone.

“There is a right time and right place for you to use your talents.”

Wow! This totally resonated with me, especially this week. I’ve been receiving valuable inspiration and encouragement from the free Hope*Writers Summit! But I’ll be honest – it’s been hard not to compare myself to these incredible authors. To see where they are, and to see where I am. 

How wonderful of God to send me the message through my two year old’s entertainment choice: there is a right time, and a right place, for me to use my talents. 

I’ve been reading “Anonymous” by Alicia Britt Chole, and I can definitely relate to what she shares about seasons of hiddenness. I need God’s help, His strength, to choose contentment rather than comparison in my anonymous, hidden seasons. To remember there is a time and place for my talents. I can trust Him with the giftings and abilities He’s entrusted to me. I can be intentional today to hone and develop my skills and my character, so I can reflect God and His love in what I say and do (and write). 

As I sat down for some quiet time with the Lord yesterday, He led me to Psalm 16:5-6…

“Lord, I have chosen you alone as my inheritance. You are my prize, my pleasure, and my portion. I leave my destiny and its timing in your hands. Your pleasant path leads me to pleasant places. I’m overwhelmed by the privileges that come with following you, for you have given me the best!” (The Passion Translation)

My life, my future, are in His hands. I’m in His hands. There is such joy in following His lead! My destiny, the timing of it all – He’s known everything since before the creation of the world. Philippians 1:6 always builds me up: 

“And I am convinced and sure of this very thing, that He Who began a good work in you will continue until the day of Jesus Christ [right up to the time of His return], developing [that good work] and perfecting and bringing it to full completion in you.” (Amplified)

And THEN! I was scrolling through my FB feed and saw this timely post from Lysa Terkeurst, where she wrote:

“Waiting on God. It can sometimes feel frustrating and hard. Especially when God seems silent and we start to wonder if maybe we heard Him wrong. If there’s an area of your life where you feel like you’ve been waiting for what seems like an unreasonable amount of time, I would love to encourage you. Your story isn’t over yet. Not only that… your story matters. To God. To all the people who need to be encouraged through your story…”

I needed to read that. At the exact time that I saw it. Our story isn’t over, our story matters, and we’re the only ones who can share our story.

God is so good! And He wants to speak to us… May we be willing to pause in the midst of our busy lives and listen! 

It’s truly amazing what we’ll find when we stop and smell the roses… Literally! It was a perfect way to wrap up my yesterday. I was out in the backyard weeding (which has become a slight obsession due to my lifelong struggle for perfection). I was finishing up and just happened to look up, and there was this beautiful blooming flower.

Once I saw one, I noticed them all over our three rose bushes. They had been there all along, but it took me a good twenty minutes to notice them. I’m so glad I took a moment to be unhurried, to see the beauty all around me. To be present, in the right place, at the right time. To receive what God had for me right then. To find the roses among the weeds. 

I want to live every day like this. Alert. Aware. In awe of God. Looking for Him, seeking Him first. Finding my strength and comfort from His Word. Enjoying the hiddenness, the waiting, the preparation. Believing that what He has in store for me is good, and He will bring it to completion – in the right place, at the right time. 

2 thoughts on “Finding Roses Among the Weeds

  1. Wow Megan, so insightful. And God’s sense of humor is displayed here-it took a Big Red Dog to lead you to the Big Red Rose(s) I’m looking forward to reading your other entries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

