Found by Him

I love the song “Here’s My Heart” by Lauren Daigle. I love to listen to it and sit quietly before the Lord, waiting for a truth or verse to come alive and strengthen me. Last week, God illuminated one of the lines of the song for me: “I am found.”

I am found… by Him.

As the song “Amazing Grace” says: “I once was lost, but now am found.” 

I used to wander about aimlessly, unsure of my worth and identity, held down by the weight of the world. I used to be alone, isolated, fearful, depressed, angry, negative… the list goes on.

In the midst of my sin and shortcomings, dirty and ashamed, before I had done anything worthy… He found me.

Psalm 18 is home to one of my favorite passages in the whole Bible.

“He reached down from on high and took hold of me; He drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me. They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the Lord was my support. He brought me out into a spacious place; He rescued me because He delighted in me.” – Psalm 18:16-19 NIV

I didn’t deserve to be rescued, to be saved out of the muck and mire. I could have stayed in the mud, my potential buried, filled with dead dreams and no hope. After all, I had chosen the path to my downward spiral.

But God had a plan for my life, a purpose for me. He sought me out. He reached down from Heaven and pulled me out of the pit I had dug for myself. He loved me first. He rescued me because He delighted in me. He saw me for who He had created me to be. He set me free, and gave me a hope and a future.

Someone spoke over me once spoke that I was a pearl that God had dug up out of the mud, cleaned off, and set in gold. I’ve always treasured this word, especially because my name means “pearl.” He found me; He made me new; He loves me.

I was drawn to the parables in Luke 15: the Lost Sheep, the Lost Coin, and the Lost Son. I love that there is great rejoicing when what was lost is found. Even if one – just one – is found. This caused me to reflect on the preciousness of ‘one’ in His eyes. The value, the worth. I love catching a glimpse of the Father’s heart, His unconditional love for that which is lost, and His relentless pursuit of the one.

Even though it’s been more than a decade since I gave my life to the Lord and started living for Him, there are still times that I find myself “hiding” from Him, wallowing in shame, chained by guilt. I lose sight of my true identity in Him and let myself be overwhelmed by the world around me. Then I remember this song, or that verse, and the truth that I am found by Him. No matter what, I am loved by Him. He wants to be with me. He won’t give up on me. He is faithful!

I’m praying for you today, that you would know in your heart and believe in your mind that you are loved by our Heavenly Father. God has amazing things in store for you – in this life and in the life to come. He is a God of restoration, healing, joy, and peace. He longs to walk this earth alongside you, to do life with you. Will you welcome Him in to this very moment? Will you receive His unconditional love and let it change you from the inside out? Will you allow yourself to be found by Him?

IMG_3710

3 thoughts on “Found by Him

Leave a Reply

