From Famished to Filled

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” – Matthew 5:6 (NIV)

God is teaching me about seasons… that seasons come, seasons go, seasons change. Seasons vary in length, in difficulty, in appearance. Webster’s defines season as “a time characterized by a particular circumstance or feature.”

The season I’m in right now – as a stay-at-home mom with 4 kids over summer break – looks much different from the season I was in just a month ago. Some parts are easier – like not having to have my husband and three of our kids out the door by 8am. But some parts are harder – like spending the majority of my day putting out fires between four little people.

My days are full of my kids, and by the time they fall asleep – I’m exhausted. Needless to say, the last few weeks have been a hard adjustment for me. Keeping up with my kids – even just at home – has filled my schedule. I don’t want to feel guilty about it either. These are my kids – a huge (and vital) part of my ministry… but I’m realizing how much more crucial it is to be filled up by God so that I can freely pour out. I can’t love them with God’s unconditional love until I’ve received it – on a daily basis.

Last night, in a moment of desperation, feeling like I’m stuck in a desert, I opened my Bible and read the first thing I saw.

Wouldn’t you know – it was titled “Thirsty for God”?

(I love how He speaks to us through His Word!)

“O God of my life, I’m lovesick for you in this weary wilderness. I thirst with the deepest longings to love you more, with cravings in my heart that can’t be described. Such yearning grips my soul for you, my God! I’m energized every time I enter your heavenly sanctuary to seek more of your power and drink in more of your glory. For your tender mercies mean more to me than life itself. How I love and praise you, God! Daily I will worship you passionately and with all my heart. My arms will wave to you like banners of praise. I overflow with praise when I come before you, for the anointing of your presence satisfies me like nothing else. You are such a rich banquet of pleasure to my soul. I lie awake each night thinking of you and reflecting on how you help me like a Father. I sing through the night under your splendor-shadow, offering up to you my songs of delight and joy! With passion I pursue and cling to you. Because I feel your grip on my life, I keep my soul close to your heart. – Psalm 63:1-8 (The Passion Translation)

Some seasons feel like a weary wilderness, and there is a deep longing in us that only God can fill! And it’s amazing that when we prioritize our relationship with Him, we’re energized and renewed by His tender mercies. I want to continue to pursue Him and cling to Him, and keep my soul close to His heart.

He quickly brought Psalm 42 to mind, which happens to be titled “A Cry for Revival” in The Passion Translation…

“I long to drink of you, O God, drinking deeply from the streams of pleasure flowing from your presence. My longings overwhelm me for more of you! My soul thirsts, pants, and longs for the Living God. I want to come and see the face of God.” – Psalm 42:1-2

And then I remembered – apart from Him, I have no good thing…

“I say to the Lord, You are my Lord; I have no good beside or beyond You.” – Psalm 16:2 (AMP)

“Keep me safe, O God, I’ve run for dear life to you. I say to GOD, ‘Be my Lord!’ Without you, nothing makes sense.” – Psalm 16:1-2 (MSG)

Beside Him or beyond Him, I have no good thing. Nothing else compares to Him – or even comes close! Without Him, nothing makes sense. With Him, by faith, everything falls into place.

After my time in the Bible yesterday, I read the July 6th devotional from Shauna Niequist’s Savor, and it resonated greatly in my soul. It was titled “A New Season” and featured Psalm 30:5 – “Weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.”

This season I’m in will come to an end, and a new one will begin. Circumstances will change. Life will get turned upside down, shaken a bit, and flipped around again. But there is one thing we can be confident of, a truth we can stand upon – God, our Heavenly Father, is constant. His unconditional love will never fail us.

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” – James 1:17 (NIV)

He doesn’t change like shifting shadows. He is a loving Father and a faithful Provider.

“God, who foresaw your tribulation, has specially armed you to go through it, not without pain but without stain.” – C.S. Lewis

This week’s song suggestion:

Anything from I Am They! We recently got their self-titled CD, and it’s AMAZING! Last night I couldn’t stop listening to “Your Love Is Mine” and “Over & Over Again” but I also LOVE “From the Day” and “Make A Way” (click here to watch them on YouTube).

Leave a Reply

