When Life Gives You Zucchini

Our friend Sheri gave us zucchini last Monday. Which doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it was a BIG deal. We received three ginormous zucchini from her. Here’s a pic of two of them…

IMG_5130

Seriously… they were huuuuuuge. 🙂

I’ll be honest, I was a little overwhelmed at first. What was I going to do with all this zucchini? And then, as silly as it may sound, God reminded me of a motivational saying: “Do what you can with what you have.” I’ve been given a lot of zucchini, and I can make a lot of yummy things for my family.

Here are a few things I learned during the week from my abundance of zucchini:

  1. Get cooking (or baking)! Why wait? It will only be fresh for so long. If you wait too long, you’ll have mold… and missed opportunity. Seize the moment! But also pace yourself. You don’t have to use it all up in one day. I spread my zucchini adventures out over the whole week. You can also save some for later by freezing it.
  2. Try new things. Think outside the box. Don’t use all your zucchini to make the same recipe over and over. If you keep scrolling you’ll find all the links to recipes I tried, along with a picture of what it looked like when I made it.
  3. Share the blessing. Whether you pass on one of your giant zucchinis to your best friend, or send some lemon zucchini bread with your husband to share at the office… live with open hands, ready and eager to pass on what you’ve been given. Freely you have received; freely give.
  4. Cultivate contentment by giving thanks. Be grateful for what you have. In the dry seasons, when you’re poor and needy, recall God’s faithfulness. In times of drought, remember the times of plenty. Trust that God is good, and His love never fails. Trust Him to provide in the seasons where it seems you don’t have enough. He is more than enough. He can do anything.
  5. God meets us where we are. In the mess. The busy. The crazy. Be aware. Be still. Listen. Look.

 

All of that from some zucchini. 🙂

 

Monday: Lemon-Zucchini Loaf with Lemon Glaze from NancyCreative. Since two of my kids and I have Celiac disease, I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour. I also used unsweetened almond milk in place of buttermilk, olive oil instead of canola, and 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 2/3 cup. Lastly, I put in two cups of grated zucchini… because I had a lot of zucchini. 🙂

IMG_5131.JPG

 

Tuesday: Zucchini & Egg Breakfast Muffins from Kayla Itsines. These were delicious!! I topped them with green onions and tomatoes. Avocado would be great too! I’ll definitely be making these again. Like tomorrow. 🙂

IMG_4675

 

AND: Coconut Chocolate Blondies (with zucchini added) from My Baking Addiction. I recently found this recipe and have made it a couple times. My kids and I love them – they’re like a cookie bar. I usually make them in my Pampered Chef Stoneware Mini Loaf Pan, and I just snuck some grated zucchini into one of the sections. It needed to cook a bit longer, and was more moist than the normal batch, but still good! My older two kids especially liked them.

IMG_4681

 

ONE MORE: Zucchini-Radish Slaw from Elizabeth Brown. It was Taco Tuesday, and I wanted to incorporate the zucchini in some sort of slaw. We used it on ground turkey tacos with hard shells, but had so much slaw left over that we had it the next night with chicken tacos on corn tortillas. We liked it much better with the chicken, and I can only imagine it would be better with fish tacos! But my three older kids also ate the slaw as a side dish.

IMG_4698

Tuesday was a busy day, full of zucchini! 

 

Wednesday: Savory Gluten Free Zucchini Bread from Gluten Free On A Shoestring. I’ll need to try this one again with a different flour (I tried experimenting with a GF blend that I’m not too fond of). Also, I didn’t have white cheddar and it may have helped the flavor a bit. Next time I think I’ll use my mini loaf pan!

IMG_4706

 

Thursday: Zucchini Tots from Skinnytaste. The flavor in these tots was amazing! We were in a mad dinner rush, and they could have used a few extra minutes. I used gluten-free breadcrumbs… that may be why they didn’t stick together as well. (I also forgot to put down parchment paper so flipping them halfway was tougher than usual.) All that to say, they really were delicious!

IMG_5190

IMG_5192

 

AND: More Lemon-Zucchini Bread… But on Saturday I found my new favorite lemon glaze for these mini loaves… thank you Once Upon A Chef!

IMG_5188

 

FRIDAY: Zucchini Parmesan from Gluten Free On A Shoestring, served over rice. Because our zucchini were so enormous, our slices were too. But it turned out amazing, and pretty filling!

IMG_5209

IMG_5211

 

SATURDAY: A much needed break from zucchini experiments 🙂

 

SUNDAY: Cheesy Zucchini Breadsticks from Mom’s Dish! These were delicious – so cheesy! Next time I’ll have to work on squeezing out all the excess water of the grated zucchini. I thought I got most of it, but there was more! We had to use a fork to eat them, but it was worth it! We’ll be making them again!

IMG_5336

 

And that was the end of the zucchini.

Or so I thought.

My sweet son saw some free zucchini at church, and what did he do? Grab the biggest one, because he knew we were almost out of it.

IMG_5233

So the zucchini adventures will continue on this week! I want to try some Stir Fry Zucchini Noodles (aka “Zoodles”), and this Zucchini Lasagna looks yummy!

In the meantime, I’d love to hear if you have a favorite zucchini recipe – share in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Zucchini

  1. Wow Megan, you’re creative. And motivated. I used to make these zucchini muffins with walnuts and Craisins which managed to mask the squashy taste but haven’t made them in years. I wish I liked zucchini more than I do, you made them look tasty 🙂

    Like

  2. I just finished the zucchini tots and happened upon your post. I can’t wait to try the lemon zucchini bread and glaze. We have a go to zucchini bread recipe that we use every summer from The Book of Bread by Judith Jones. We add chocolate chips and the orange zest which is in there make a really good dessert. We freeze them and enjoy zucchini all winter long. I have a feeling I’ll be freezing plenty of lemon loaf to mix it up. Thanks a bunch! And like you, I’m always waiting for the tomatoes!

    Like

  3. Hi Megan…I love your blog. Just read your one on zucchini and had to chuckle. I planted 5 zucchini plants this summer so needless to say my cup runneth over! I too made that lemon zucchini bread and my husband is celiac too. So when we have a pot luck I will definitely remember to bake something gluten free!
    You are such a sweet sister in the Lord with a lot of spiritual depth. I am so thankful I am in your group this year. You did a great job leading our discussion today. Abundant blessings to you and yours. ❤️ Stephanie

    Like

Leave a Reply

