Anything Could Happen

We live in a fallen, broken world. We need to remember that. I need to remember that. We haven’t arrived. This isn’t heaven. This isn’t eternity.

Anything could happen. Good or bad. And it does.

When I let the guard of my heart down, and let my mind wander to the “what if” – the outcome is never good. I naturally (and quickly) tend toward the worst-case scenario.

It happened again today. There was a threat at my child’s school that triggered a district-wide lockdown. Fear gripped my thoughts as I entertained what might enfold. What could happen.

The truth is, anything could happen.

But the greater truth is, God knows the beginning and the end.

No matter what happens, God sees the big picture – He painted it! He can turn anything to the good. And He extends to us a hope that we can cling to… a living hope!

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.” – ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭1:3-5‬ ‭ESV‬‬

It’s not a matter of if something will happen to us. We are all destined to die. So in light of that future event – when something does happen to us – we can have and experience hope. Hope because we know how the story is going to end and we’re putting our trust in it… in eternity. Where we’ll experience a family reunion of heavenly proportions. No more pain, sickness, crying, or fear. Forever with our Abba Father. 

So instead of letting my mind wander to the what-if’s and the most terrifying of outcomes, I can fix my eyes on Jesus, dwelling on the eternal hope that I have. AND I can live each day present, fully here to be a gift to those God brings into my life. AND I can guard my heart for it’s the wellspring of life – guarding it with the hope of what’s to come.

“Live every day like you’re terminal. Because you are. Live every day like your soul’s eternal. Because it is.” – Ann Voskamp, The Broken Way

This week’s song suggestion: “Anchor” by Hillsong!

“[Now] we have this [hope] as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul [it cannot slip and it cannot break down under whoever steps out upon it–a hope] that reaches farther and enters into [the very certainty of the Presence] within the veil, where Jesus has entered in for us [in advance], a Forerunner having become a High Priest forever after the order (with the rank) of Melchizedek.” – ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭6:19-20‬ ‭AMP

Leave a Reply

