His Way Over Mine

I’m a planner. I’m not a huge fan of spontaneity. I enjoy having things on my calendar well in advance. I like when things go a particular way. According to plan. (My way. My plan.) 

So, when plans change… it can get ugly fast. Just ask my husband. Or my mom. I’m working on it, but I can get pretty grumpy and overwhelmed. (A post of mine from last year may add some additional insight.)

I think it’s part how God wired me – to think and plan ahead and be somewhat organized with my time and schedule. And it’s a big part of my flesh… the desire for things to happen my way. I believe God wants me to be more flexible, more in tune with the Spirit to follow His lead, but I’m not certain that means throwing all my plans out the window. Perhaps there’s a balance. 

“A man’s mind plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps and makes them sure.” – Proverbs 16:9 (Amplified)

We can make our plans, but may we stay open to His leading and His direction for our lives. HE is the One who can make our steps sure. 

“A man’s steps are established by the Lord, and He takes pleasure in his way. Though he falls, he will not be overwhelmed, because the Lord holds his hand.” – Psalm 37:23-24 (HCSB)

I love the picture this paints. God establishes our steps and HE delights in how WE walk. We might stumble and fall along the way, but He is right there with us. Holding our hand, helping us up, making sure we don’t stay down and discouraged. 

The Hebrew word for “directs” in Proverbs 16:9 is the same word as “established” in Psalm 37:23 – kuwn. Some of the definitions include to be firm, stable, established, set up, enduring, securely determined, steadfast; to prepare, provide for, furnish, direct toward; be fastened, be restored. 

When we’re open to His leading, He can direct and establish our steps – He can set us up to stand firm, prepare us to be securely determined, and provide a way for us to be restored. 

Countless times throughout the last 13 years I have had to turn from my plans to God. It’s so easy to rely on my agenda and timeline and vision of what I think the future will or should look like. But that’s when I get comfortable, settling instead of sojourning, self-trusting instead of trusting Him. On more than one occasion I’ve thought that my plan was better, but He sees the big picture and He has always been faithful. 

It’s one thing to read Ann Voskamp’s life-changing book called “The Broken Way“… it’s another thing when your life changes and you’re given the opportunity to walk the broken way. When the brokenness becomes real and you’re standing at a crossroads with a choice to make. 

You can make your plans, but will you let God direct your steps? Will you choose humility and grace and choose to walk the path He ordains for you?

Will you run into His arms and enter into His rest? Will you let him be your hiding place, your safe refuge? Will you trust Him to provide what you need for the journey ahead? 

(Those questions are for me, but I hope they help you reflect on where you find yourself today.)

I want to leave you with two songs that both declare Lord, have Your way in me… Shane and Shane’s version of “I Give You My Heart” and “I Surrender” by Hillsong. I pray those words will become our honest declaration as we move forward on our pilgrimage heavenward – Lord, have Your way in me!

Leave a Reply

