At Home in Him

“There’s no place like home.”

The famous line from The Wizard of Oz has been on my heart for the last week or two. My mom quoted it to me and my sisters when we spent the night together in Seattle for a race. She gave us with these adorable (and incredibly comfy) slippers as a sweet reminder…


There is something special about spending time with your mom and sisters. It brings back all the childhood memories of comfort and love, the good times shared under one roof, together in the same house.

But I’m finding that there is no place that compares to being at home in God. There’s no place like home when He is your home. 

Another well-known quote came to mind: “Home is where the heart is.” Where is my heart? Where are my affections? I want my heart to be found in Him. Colossians 3:1-4 says “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you will also appear with Him in glory” (NIV). May our hearts be set on God, and our lives be found in Him.

I want to find my home in Him. If I’m found in Him, I can go anywhere and do anything. When He is my home, nothing can unsettle me… because I’m settled in Him.

Just over thirteen years ago, I walked up the front steps of a church in Marysville and I felt like God said, “You’re home.” I was a broken, isolated, angry, burdened seventeen year old; that night I gave my life to Jesus (and met my future husband).  For years I thought that word of being home was a reference to the church itself… which is probably why I had such a loyalty to that church. It was my home. It wasn’t until last week that I realized that He wasn’t talking about the church itself – He was talking about Himself. Because of His great love and amazing grace, I was finally home… in Him.

Almost three years ago, my husband and I packed up our family and moved to Sunny Sequim. Driving into town with all of our belongings, I listened to the song “Home” by Ingrid Michaelson. This town was my new home, my safe place. And then, last week, I realized it wasn’t the town itself. Again, it was Himself. I was at home again in Him. He was my safe place.

We don’t know where our journey will take us next. But I’m resting secure in the truth that this place, this earth, is not my home. I am truly at home in Him alone!

I learned a new word last week: frapping. I was reading Hebrews 4:16 – “Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (NASB). In The Passion Translation, there’s a note at the bottom of the page that talks about the Greek word boētheia, how it means “urgent help” and “reinforcing (a ship in a storm)” – and it directs you to Acts 27:17. Paul was on a ship in a storm, and it says “they passed ropes (supporting cables) under the ship itself to hold it together” (NIV).

So this word, boētheia, is only used twice in the New Testament, in these two verses. It means “help; aid; specially a rope or chain for frapping a vessel.” Needless to say, I had summon Webster to define “frapping” 🙂 To frap means “to draw tight (as with ropes or cables).” What a picture this paints for us! In the midst of the storm, they were frapping the ship, reinforcing it with ropes to hold it together.

In the midst of life’s storms, in our time of need, when we come boldly to His throne, God draws us tight; He pulls us close to Himself. He holds us together when the world says we should be falling apart. He is the answer we long for; He is the source of the mercy and grace we need, our help and aid. He is our home, our safe place, our refuge, our resting place.

As we continue in the waiting and the unknown and the job search, He gently reminds me that we can cling to Him; He is cling-worthy. We can trust Him; He alone is worthy of our trust. Jesus, our Great High Priest, is the go-between, the supporting cables between us and God.

We are at home in Him.

There is no better place to be.

 

Song Suggestions:

 

Related Blogs: Pilgrimage & Our Heavenly Home

2 thoughts on “At Home in Him

  1. Oh Megan you have such a way with words – especially His!!! You usher me closer to Him with every blog you write. Thank you for sharing your beautiful gift! ❤

    Like

  2. I always know I will be blessed by what you write, Megan! Home is such a meaningful word … an a emotional one for many of us with both loving and painful memories attached to it. To be fully assured our true home is safe and secure and is in God alone is great comfort! Your insight and faith are gifts from God and you share them with such grace! Love you, Carlene ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

